ESAs Advance to Finance Committees

New Hampshire’s two Education Savings Account (ESA) bills successfully passed the first round and advance to the chambers’ finance committees for another round of hearings and executive sessions.

These ESAs are the next step in educational options for children across the Granite State. All students, regardless of their zip code and income level, will have the opportunity for an education that fits their unique needs and goals.

In mid February the entire NH House of Representatives passed HB 647, the ESA for children with special needs, in a roll call vote, forwarding the bill to the House Finance Committee. They will discuss and vote on the bill March 13th at 10:00am in LOB 210-211. The committee’s recommendation is very influential when the full House again votes on the bill.

The Senate Finance Committee will also schedule a public hearing and vote in the next week or so on SB 193, the universal ESA.

Please contact the members of both finance committees urging them to expand school choice so that all NH children have the opportunity for an education that fits their individual needs.

Parents are the best possible people to determine what type of education is right for their children.  Parents want to make these choices for their children and children are more likely to succeed when parents are proactive and make the decisions about how their children are educated.

Personal stories and messages about how these ESAs will impact your children are very powerful.

If you would like to also thank Governor Sununu for his commitment to supporting all students in their efforts to have an education that fits, contact him through the Governor’s website or call his office at (603)271-2121.

Read more at Universal ESA Bill Could Make New Hampshire a National Leader in Education Choice by the Heartland Institute and Education Savings Accounts: the Next Evolution in School Choice.

 

ACT NOW

Contact the members of the Senate Finance Committee and House Finance Committee urging them to support the Education Savings Account bills. Brief phone calls are most effective, but personalized emails directed to individuals are also helpful; mention if you are a constituent. At the bottom we’ve supplied the House Finance Committee’s group email as well as a list of the members’ emails for an easy copy/paste.

To contact the Senate Finance Committee, email or call them directly. The committee does not have a shared email address.

[table id=6 /]

To contact the entire House Finance Committee, you may send one email to HouseFinanceCommittee@leg.state.nh.us. Below is the list of the members’ contact information as well as a simplified email list for an easy copy/paste.

[table id=7 /]

rep03281@aol.com
lynne.ober@comcast.net
kweyler@aol.com
timothy.twombly@leg.state.nh.us
tracy.emerick@leg.state.nh.us
erin.hennessey@leg.state.nh.us
Maryjane.Wallner@leg.state.nh.us
msmithpen@aol.com
Tom.Buco@leg.state.nh.us
bobwalsh2@comcast.net
karen.umberger@leg.state.nh.us
frank.byron@leg.state.nh.us
peterjspanos@gmail.com
steve.vaillancourt@leg.state.nh.us
Sharon.Nordgren@leg.state.nh.us
Cindy.Rosenwald@leg.state.nh.us
William.Hatch@leg.state.nh.us
Patricia.Lovejoy@leg.state.nh.us
betsy.mckinney@leg.state.nh.us
bedrep7@gmail.com
Rep.Bates@live.com
nhlpm@myfairpoint.net
Daniel.Eaton@leg.state.nh.us
prleishman@aol.com
Katherine.Rogers@leg.state.nh.us