Scholarship Frees Potential

Free the child’s potential, and you will transform him into the world.

~ Maria Montessori

 

The Education Tax Credit scholarship program puts educational opportunities within reach for low-income students across the Granite State. Over 400 students are utilizing the scholarship for the 2019-2020 school year.

There are a few bills filed that aim to diminish or repeal the ETC program and devastate these children’s educational paths.

Below is a note from one of these students, Donovan. When his mother told him about the repeal effort, he was very upset and asked to send a note to the House Ways and Means Committee. It is reprinted below, with permission.

 

 Hi,

My name is Donovan, and I am in 7th grade. I am against HB 632. I went to public school for 6 years and it was not a good fit for me. I am a lot more comfortable in a smaller school setting. Being in a smaller school setting has helped me to focus on my education compared to when I was in the bigger public school setting, which has more drama and distractions than the private school I am attending. If the Education Tax Credit Scholarship is repealed, I will not be able to get the education that best fits my needs. The Children’s Scholarship Fund made it possible for my parents to be able to send me to a place where I can thrive and learn. Please vote no on HB 632. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Donovan Seppala

 

Contact the House Ways and Means Committee today!

The House Ways and Means Committee will hold a public hearing on HB 632, a bill that will repeal the Education Tax Credit scholarship, on Tuesday, February 5th starting at 11:00am in room 202 of the Legislative Office Building. Please join us, and bring the kids! Even if you are able to attend the hearing, it is helpful to contact the committee ahead of time.

We have an easy-to-use tool that will send an email to the committee as well as your own state representatives. The message can be personalized for greater impact.

Phone calls can be especially effective, particularly if you share what educational opportunities mean to you and your family. Mention if you are a constituent.

A brief group email takes only moments. Their emails are below for an easy copy/paste.

[table id=26 /]

 

susan.almy@comcast.net
Richard.Ames@leg.state.nh.us
dennis.malloy@leg.state.nh.us
David.Karrick@leg.state.nh.us
Thomas.Southworth@leg.state.nh.us
Tom.Schamberg@leg.state.nh.us
edith.tucker@leg.state.nh.us
Lisa.Bunker@leg.state.nh.us
Jennie.Gomarlo@leg.state.nh.us
Willis.Griffith@leg.state.nh.us
Tom.Loughman@leg.state.nh.us
Jerry.Stringham@leg.state.nh.us
norman.major@leg.state.nh.us
repulery@comcast.net
patrick.abrami@leg.state.nh.us
Charles.Burns@leg.state.nh.us
Fred.Doucette@leg.state.nh.us
jess.edwards@leg.state.nh.us
Alan.Bershtein@leg.state.nh.us
susan.almy@comcast.net
Richard.Ames@leg.state.nh.us